dérive

Icon

The Graffiti Report Card: Ugly Graffiti Haters Unite

( via design crack )

Graffiti Report Card- A way to combat bad graffiti by shaming the writer

Click on image to enlarge

by Brandon Thomas Baunach

What is the Graffiti Report Card?

The Graffiti Report Card is a mechanism that you can use to judge graffiti. It’s a sticker with an arrow on it that points to the graffiti. The sticker has a number of categories you can judge the graffiti on as well as a space to write your own comments. The way you use the Graffiti Report Card is you:

1: Find a piece of graffiti you love or hate.
2: Print out the PDF I’ve included in this article (HERE)
3: Fill out the graffiti report card with your comments
4: Stick it up on the wall next to the graffiti
5: Take a picture and send it to me
6: Buy a T-shirt Grim Reaper T-Shirt


What is the background of the Graffiti Report Card?

It’s a project I started a couple of months ago after seeing my neighborhood (The Mission District of San Francisco) receive an amazing amount of ugly, large, and talentless graffiti. I wanted a way to combat the ugly graffiti while at the same time give praise to the talented graffiti writers who I feel make the streets more beautiful. It occurred to me, that many of our local taggers don’t realize how ugly and talentless their graffiti is, so I wanted to give them some feedback.

I did some research and found the perfect project called the Graffiti Critique. The Graffiti Critique is a form you use to critique graffiti which suited my purposes well. I contacted Drew Heffron, the person who created the Graffiti Critique who was supposedly giving out this form as a PDF. I really love the design and execution. I had no luck getting the form though, so I just created my own.

Filed under: art, space/place

Leave a comment